Independent Minds, Working Together
Richard G. Osgood, Jr.

Richard G. Osgood, Jr.


Osgood Lecture

The Richard G. Osgood, Jr., Memorial Lectureship in Geology

The Richard G. Osgood, Jr., Memorial Lectureship in Geology was endowed in 1981 by his three sons in memory of their father. Dr. Osgood was a paleontologist with an international reputation who taught at Wooster from 1967 until 1981. Funds from this endowment are used to bring a well–known scientist interested in paleontology and/or stratigraphy to the campus each year to lecture and meet with students.

Jessica Conroy ('03), Assistant Professor of Geology at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, is our Thirty-Third Annual Richard G. Osgood, Jr. Memorial Lecturer. This lecture will be held on Wednesday, April 2, at 7:30 p.m. in Lean Lecture Room, Wishart Hall.

Past Osgood Lecturers

  • 2013 Michael E. Mann, Penn State University
  • 2012 George Davis ('64), The University of Arizona
  • 2011 Dr. Susan Lozier, Duke University
  • 2010 Dr. James W. Hagadorn, Amherst College
  • 2009 David A. Burney, National Tropical Botanical Garden, Hawaii
  • 2008 Dr. Paul Olsen, Columbia University
  • 2007 Dr. Richard Alley, Pennsylvania State University
  • 2006 Dr. Orrin H. Pilkey, Duke University
  • 2005 Patricia H. Kelley (‘75), University of North Carolina at Wilmington
  • 2004 Lonnie Thompson, The Ohio State University
  • 2003 Mark A. Norell, The American Museum of Natural History
  • 2002 Douglas H. Erwin, The Smithsonian Institution
  • 2001 Carlton E. Brett, The University of Cincinnati
  • 2000 Paul C. Mayewski, The University of New Hampshire
  • 1999 Bruce Latimer, The Cleveland Museum of Natural History
  • 1998 Mary Droser, The University of California, Riverside
  • 1997 Jeffrey F. Mount, The University of California, Davis
  • 1996 Timothy J. Palmer, The University of Wales, Aberystwyth
  • 1995 Martin Lockley, The University of Colorado at Denver
  • 1994 Adrienne Zihlman, The University of California, Santa Cruz
  • 1993 John Van Wagoner (‘72), Exxon Production Research Company
  • 1992 Molly F. Miller (‘69), Vanderbilt University
  • 1991 Rodney M. Feldmann, Kent State University
  • 1990 Erle Kauffman, The University of Colorado
  • 1989 Paul Taylor, The Natural History Museum, London
  • 1988 Steven Stanley, Johns Hopkins University
  • 1987 Niles Eldredge, The American Museum of Natural History
  • 1986 Susan Kidwell, The University of Chicago
  • 1985 Walter Manger (‘66), The University of Arkansas
  • 1984 David Jablonski, The University of Chicago
  • 1983 J. William Schopf, The University of California, Los Angeles
  • 1982 John Pojeta, Jr., United States Geological Survey