David Carpenter

Carpenter Pre-Law Prize

The David L. Carpenter Pre-Law Prize was established in 2000 at The College of Wooster in memory of David Lyle Carpenter, class of 1965, who died in 1999, after a courageous battle with pancreatic cancer. This prize is awarded at Commencement to the outstanding Pre-Law graduating Senior.

David Carpenter was born and raised in Norwalk, Ohio. He graduated from Norwalk High School and attended The College of Wooster, graduating in 1965. While at Wooster, he won departmental honors in economics, a varsity letter in track and field, and also played intramural sports. In 1969, Dave graduated from the University of Michigan with both an M.B.A. and a J.D. He immediately joined the Cleveland law firm of Calfee, Halter & Griswold, LLP. He was recognized in the corporate lawyer category in the publication Best Lawyers in America. He was an active member of the Heights Christian Church and also served on the board of the National Conference for Community and Justice.

To be eligible for this prize, the application form (.pdf) (.docx) must be completed (no handwritten applications, please) and returned to Patrice Reeder in The Pre-Law Advising Program office (Scovel Hall, room 116A) by 4:00 p.m. on Friday, March 27, 2015, along with a copy of the Personal Statement the student has sent to law schools to which he or she have applied, and a copy of the student's College of Wooster transcript. Criteria for eligibility for this prize include: acceptance into an accredited U.S. law school; academic excellence at The College of Wooster; leadership ability, values that will serve the profession with competence and integrity; and participation in The Pre-Law Advising Program. Financial need is not a consideration, nor is summer employment. Only a student’s record at The College of Wooster will be considered.


  • Mallory Kruper '15
  • Methawee Manupipatpong '14
  • Stephen Perrott '13
  • Jacob Sklar '12
  • Kaylin Gaal '11
  • Alexa Roggenkamp '10
  • Melissa Wood '09
  • Heather Couch '08
  • Lauren Schreur '07
  • Margaux Day '06
  • Michael Ruttinger '05
  • Erin Kriynovich '04
  • Gregory M. Davis '03
  • Elizabeth Ann Keller '02
  • Katherine Opsincs
  • Ken Walczak