

Phi Beta Kappa Induction Geremony

The College of Wooster Saturday, May 11, 2024

Kappa of Ohio

Founded 1926

2024 OFFICERS

Emily Armour President
Missy Schen Vice President
Zachary Sharrow Secretary
Jon Breitenbucher Treasurer

FACULTY AND STAFF MEMBERS OF PHI BETA KAPPA

Beatrice Adams History

Emily Armour Educational Technology

Paul Bonvallet Chemistry
Jennifer Bowen Mathematics

Jon Breitenbucher Educational Technology
Laura Burch French & Francophone Studies

Susan Clayton Psychology
Tracy Cosgriff Art History
Claire Eager English
Jennifer Faust Chemistry

Heather Fitz Gibbon Sociology and Anthropology
Marian Frazier Statistical & Data Sciences

Mark Graham Religious Studies

Manon Grugel-WatsonPhysicsKate GullattaAPEX

Misty Hostetler Student Affairs
Kent Kille Political Science
Matthew Krain Political Science
Colby Long Mathematics
Sharon Lynn Biology

Matthew Mariola Environmental Studies

Anne Nurse Sociology
Anne Ober Wellness Center
Lisa Panepento Admissions

Lisa Perfetti French and Francophone Studies

Missy Schen Educational Assessment

Elizabeth Schiltz Philosophy Paul Seling APEXZachary Sharrow Libraries Gregory Shaya History John Siewert Art History Sarah Sobeck Chemistry Christina Welsch History Mark Wilson Earth Sciences

EMERITUS FACULTY MEMBERS AND AFFILIATED SCHOLARS OF PHI BETA KAPPA

Daniel BourneLinda HultsElena SokolRichard FiggeCharles KammerClaudia ThompsonJohn GabrieleMarilyn LovelessAndrew WeaverDavid GedaleciaDavid McConnellMark Weaver

R. Stanton Hales Eric Moskowitz
Charles Hampton David Powell

CEREMONY

PresidingEmily ArmourHistory of SocietyJon Breitenbucher

Zachary Sharrow

Charge to Initiates Emily Armour
Presentation of Initiates Beatrice Adams

Jennifer Bowen Mark Graham Missy Schen Paul Seling Sarah Sobeck

STUDENT INDUCTEES

Class of 2024 Inducted as Juniors

Tobin Francis ChinAudrey HelmreichGabriel ThomasColin CurnowKelsey Anne McEwenTyara ThompsonMax ForhanKatherine OlsonAinsley WiesnerTrinity HarmonEddie Papp

Class of 2024 Inductees

Elizabeth Eve Jha Alona Abufarha Athena Marie Tharenos Abigail Elizabeth Aitken Ritwik Mukesh Jha Diana Frances Tobin Keeyeon Choi* Yubin Kim Ann Virginia Venditti Fritz Clingroth[†] Julie Anne Larick Liam Adrian Walker Emma Elizabeth Connors Anna Simone Walsh Laurel Anne Lasch Vincent Andrew DiLeo Henry Norvell McMahon Eleanor Weiker

Jack Martin DonahueEve Alicia PainterTaemour Shoaib ZaidiRachael Nicole DudziakWillow Harper Reddish*indicates a student inducted in absentia

Kiki Giles Jason Robert Stewart *indicates a student who will be inducted

Emily Ann Greenland James Jett Tang*

Class of 2025 Inductees

Shahad Al-jarah Alexis Leigh Sarne

James Edwin Howrey Azjargal Sosorsuren

Frances Zoe Readshaw Spencer Marshall West-Hest[†]

+

†indicates a student who will be inducted as a senior

Brief History of Phi Beta Kappa

Founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation's oldest academic honor society. New England branches were founded at Yale in 1780 and Harvard in 1781. During the next 50 years, four more chapters were founded. By 1875, the society extended the privilege of membership to women. By 1883, 25 local chapters existed, and the need for closer unity and greater uniformity of practices led to the organization of the national body: the United Chapters of Phi Beta Kappa. Today, Phi Beta Kappa has chapters at 286 of the foremost institutions of higher learning across the country, with a membership exceeding 500,000.

The society's name is formed by using the first letters of the phrase Philosophia Biou Kybernetes, "Love of wisdom, the guide of life." One cannot apply for membership in Phi Beta Kappa. Members are elected by the chapters from the junior class and from senior degree candidates in the liberal arts and sciences, all of whom are in the top 10% of the graduating class.



The Phi Beta Kappa Key

Originally designed in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa's small gold key has become one of the nation's most celebrated emblems, a mark of distinction recognized by members and nonmembers alike. For over two hundred years, the letters SP on the back have stood for Societas Philosophiae, while the three stars represent what the founders believed were the ambitions of all young scholars: friendship, morality, and literature (learning).



PBK Prize Winner 2024

Gabriel Thomas is a philosophy major and biology minor from Columbus, Ohio. His Independent Study, titled "In Balance with This Life, This Death: An Analysis of the Evil of the Death and the Ways in Which Death Leads to Meaning," argued for the importance of confrontations with mortality in leading to a meaningful life. He has been a four-year member of the men's soccer team, an editor for the arts & entertainment section of *The Wooster Voice*, the treasurer and an editor for the student-run philosophy journal *Sapere Aude*, and the student liaison to the Philosophy Department. He has also worked as a professional writing consultant for the Writing Center and served as the teaching apprentice for the classes *On the Meaning of Life* and *Logic & Philosophy*. Thomas has been elected to the philosophy honor society, Phi Sigma Tau, in which he served as the vice president, and he has been awarded the Ronald E. Hustwit Prize in Philosophy and the John F. Miller Prize in Philosophy on top of being selected for the Dean's List and the NCAC Academic Honor Roll. Upon graduating, Thomas plans to spend a year traveling and getting some living done before enrolling in either a Ph.D. program in philosophy, where he would pursue teaching upon completion of the degree, or law school.

