Independent Minds, Working Together

Regional Tournament Information

The American Collegiate Moot Court Association's official Midwest Regional Tournament, co-sponsored by the Wayne County Bar Association, takes place at the end of the fall semester at The College of Wooster. This year's tournament will be held November 21 and 22, 2014.

Regional tournaments act as qualifying tournaments for teams wishing to compete at the ACMA National Tournament in January 2015. The top 20% of teams competing at each regional will receive an automatic invitation to the national tournament. To compete in the national tournament, teams must first compete in an ACMA sanctioned regional tournament.

At the regional tournaments, two-person teams will be required to present oral arguments in three preliminary rounds on Friday afternoon, November 21. Each team will represent both petitioner and respondent. Order of argument and matching teams will be determined randomly. We will break 16 teams into the finals, holding four rounds on Saturday, November 22, in single elimination rounds.


Information for Judges - TENTATIVE

Check-in for judges is from 1:00 – 1:45 p.m. in the first floor lobby of Scovel Hall (944 College Mall). Light refreshments will be available. The judges' orientation meeting will be held from 1:45 – 2:20 p.m in Scovel Hall, room 105.

Information for Competitors - TENTATIVE

Please contact Mark Weaver, Moot Court Team Coach and Professor of Political Science, to register for this tournament.

The registration fee for the Midwest Regional Moot Court Tournament is $125.00 per team. Registration closes on Friday, November 1, 2013.  A $100 late fee will be due for any registration fee not received by November 1.  After the electronic registration is complete, please mail the email confirmation form, along with your registration check made out to "The College of Wooster," to Patrice Reeder, Tournament Coordinator, The College of Wooster, Scovel Hall, 944 College Mall, Wooster, OH 44691. Unfortunately we cannot accept payment made by credit card.

Check-in for teams is from 1:15 – 1:45 p.m. in Wishart Hall, room 001 lobby (303 E. University). Refreshments will be available. The team orientation meeting will be held in the same room from 1:45 – 2:20 p.m.

National Competition - 2014 information not yet available

The ACMA 2013-2014 National Tournament was scheduled for January 18 and 19, 2014, at Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law, Arizona State University.


  • Dan Cohen and Abby Helvering - Final 4
  • Janet Zahorsky and Ben Taylor - Elite 8
  • Luke Tonant and Tyler Hoff - Top 32
  • Alexi Ehrlich and Andrea Patton - Top 32
  • Rachel Myers and Erica Rickey - Top 32
  • Andrea Patton, 4th Individual Orator Award