Independent Minds, Working Together
SafeZone - CDGE

Safe Zone Ally Training

The College of Wooster’s Safe Zone Ally Training Program, restarted in the 2012-13 academic year, is a campus-wide program to provide a welcoming environment for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender persons through the establishment of an identifiable network of individuals who can provide support, information, and a safe place in our community for LGBT persons.

The purpose of this program is to reduce homophobia, transphobia, and heterosexism on our campus, making our campus a safer and freer environment for all members of our community regardless of sexual orientation or gender identification.

Safe Zone Ally Training Manual for Participants (.pdf)

Terminology (.pdf)

Local, State and National Resources (.pdf)


By agreeing to become a participant in Safe Zone Ally Training Program, you agree to undergo training and to serve as a resource for people seeking clarification of issues of sexual diversity. The three-hour training is for faculty, staff, and students. 

The upcoming session will take place in Babcock's Formal Lounge:                                  

  • Saturday, February 8, 9am-noon
  • Thursday, April 3, 6-9pm

To schedule a training session or for more information, contact Nancy Grace.

Learning Outcomes - Personal Awarness, Knowledge, Skills, and Action

Participants will:

  • Reflect on personal social identities in a social justice context
  • Identify how systems of oppression and cycles of socialization impact their individual ability to act as an ally
  • Develop a working knowledge of LGBTQ terminology
  • Explain key concepts related to LGBTQ and Ally Identity Development Models
  • Define multiple ways to exhibit/demonstrate ally behavior
  • Recognize both subtle and overt instances that perpetuate oppression of LGBTQ people
  • Identify various intervention strategies
  • Assess the impact of various intervention strategies
  • Identify areas of growth as an ally
  • Understand the role the social identities play in ally action behavior

Training Team Members

  • Nancy Grace, Professor, English/Director, CDGE (122 Babcock)
  • MarTeze Hammonds, Asst. Dean of Students for Retention and Academic Engagement/ Associate Director CDGE (112 Babcock)
  • Stacia Kock, Visiting Assistant Professor of Women's Gender, and Sexuality Studies (302 Kauke Hall)
  • Kevin Lowry, Administrative Coordinator for Development (317 Galpin)
  • Anne Ober, Counselor/Students Wellness Center (Room 405)
  • Trevor Strock, Security Officer (001 Luce)
  • Jillian Yoder, Assistant Chaplain (104 Overholt)

Safe Zone Allies on the Wooster Campus

  • Bryan Alkemeyer, Assistant Professor, Comparative Literature/English (222 Kauke)
  • Lynette Arner, Administrative Assistant to the President (218 Galpin)
  • Kaitlin Banko, Class of 2016
  • Laurie Beam, Nurse (Longbrake Student Wellness Center)
  • Jacob Beckstead, Class of 2016
  • Beth Boser, Visiting Assistant Professor of Communication Studies (103 Wishart)
  • Carolyn Buxton, Sr. Associate Dean of Students (119 Galpin)
  • Grant Cornwell, President (219 Galpin)
  • Peg Cornwell, Associate to the President for Community, Trustee, and Parent Relations (205 Gault Alumni Center)
  • Lisa Crothers, Assistant Professor, Religious Studies/South Asian Studies (Kauke 003)
  • Lauren Cruise, Security Officer (001 Luce)
  • Stehen Flyn, Emerging Technologies Librarian (Andrews Library 158A)
  • Mike Forbes, Visiting Assistant Professor of Africana Studies (001 Kauke)
  • Pam Frese, Professor, Sociology and Anthropology (014 Kauke)
  • Maria Fulan, Class of 2017
  • Bethany Grimes, Security Officer (001 Luce)
  • Shar'da Hammett, Class of 2017
  • Ben Hancock, Asst. Dean of Students and Director of Special Programs (120 Galpin)
  • Angela Johnston, Chief of Staff and Secretary of the College (223 Galpin)
  • Chuck Kammer, Professor of Religious Studies (023 Kauke) 
  • Nicola Kille, Associate Director Off Campus Studies/Asst. Director CDGE (101 Babcock)
  • Stacia Kock, Visiting Assistant Professor of Sociology and WGSS (223 Kauke) 
  • Cody Leary, Assistant Professor of Physics (108 Taylor) 
  • Susan Lee, Special Assistant to the President for Diversity Affairs & Campus Climate (203 Lilly)
  • Kevin Lowry, Administrative Coordinator, Development (317 Galpin)
  • Yorgun Marcel, Assistant Dean of Students / Director of International Student Affairs (104 Babcock)
  • Lynette Mattson, Writing Center Intern (Writing Center Andrews Library)
  • Heidi McCormick, Director of Alumni Relations/The Wooster Fund (Gault Alumni Center 206)
  • Dennis Miller, Grounds Department
  • Linda Morgan-Clement, Henry Copeland Chaplain and Director of Interfaith Campus Ministry (114 Babcock & 102 Overholt House)
  • Jill Munro, Director of International Student and Scholar Services (120 Babcock) 
  • Carolyn Newton, Provost (111 Galpin)
  • Jeremy Rapport, Visiting Assistant Professor of Religious Studies (127 Kauke)
  • Terra Roane, Asst. Director of Admissions (205 Gault Admissions Center)
  • Paul Seling, Transcript Coordinator, Registrar/APEX (Gault Library)
  • Lori Stine, Administrative Coordinator, Longbrake Student Wellness Center (Student Wellness Center)
  • Celeste Tannenbaum, Office of Interfaith Campus Ministries (201 Overholt)
  • Barbara Thelamour, Assistant Professor of Psychology (106 Morgan)
  • Ray Tucker, Counselor (Wellness Center 407)
  • Ashnati Wallace, Class of 2016
  • Jahqwahn Watson, Class of 2017
  • Sally Whitman, Exec. Assistant for Presedential Events (222 Galpin)
  • Raymond Windsor, Grounds Department
  • David Yokley, Assoc. Director of Admissions (203 Gault Admissions Center)
  • Kayla Yorko, Security Officer (001 Luce)
  • Marjorie Zeager, Class of 2017