2014-2015 Inductees

PBK Prize Winners 2015

Jacob Boca is a double major in Trumpet Performance and Music Theory from Meadville, Pennsylvania. His Independent Study in music theory is entitled “Metamorphosis and Persona in Ned Rorem’s Poems of Love and the Rain.” This thesis analyzes text-music relationships as they relate to various aural manifestations of an implied emotional transformation said to be occurring in a vocal persona that serves as this song cycle’s dramatic subject. For his Independent Study in performance, Jacob gave a recital featuring the music of Johann Fasch, Joseph Haydn, Edvard Grieg, and Eugene Bozza. This fall, he will begin a master’s program in Trumpet Performance at the Carnegie Mellon University School of Music. In addition to his performance studies, Jacob will also serve as a graduate assistant to the Department of Music Theory at CMU where he will be a teaching and research assistant to Dr. John Paul Ito.

Morgan Hughes is an Anthropology and Studio Art double major from Chico, California. Her Independent Study project is entitled “The Canyon as Home: Accessing Food, Water, Education and Employment in the Former Tijuana Municipal Dump.” The study combines ethnographic research methods and art to explore the resources available to a community currently residing in the Canyon, a former landfill in Mexico. Through semi-structured interviews and participant observation, Morgan worked with Canyon residents to construct a visual record of experiences and everyday life. Following graduation, Morgan will travel to Malaysia to teach English under a Fulbright grant.

Members of Class of 2015 Inducted Last Year
Jacob Logan Boca Rachelle Pearl Herrin Michael Edward Ohsfeldt
Rachelle Lee Brenner Morgan Elise Hughes Joseph Richard Harrison Smith
Chelsea Renae Frey Cara Elizabeth Jacob Amanda Lynn Steinhebel
Ryan Taylor Grow Nicole Candace Marton  
Class of 2015 Inductees
Erin Elizabeth Andrews-Sharer Erin Elizabeth Hodson Claire McNaught Ramey
Jennifer Lynn Barrord Anqi Huang* Colleen Anne Robinson
Andrew David Bevis Gentry Jarrett Kerwood Bridget M. Schmidt
Larissa Marina Branovacki Charlotte Mary Klein Hannah Lee Sharfman
Teresa Annette Butel Rachel Marie Korest Elizabeth Mayer Somsel
Melanie Rose Chin Laura Yvette Merrell* Emily Leigh Ann Stoner
Douglas Alan Code Susannah Patton Montgomery James Michael Thomas**
Brittany Ann Cook Anne Christeen Partika Carolyn Valerie Thornton
Anna-Maria Helena Cornelia Cornel Audrey Graham Platt Casey Diane Wade
Shannon Marie Dade Lincoln Radley Plews  
Tyler John Gerwig Saul Benjamin Propp  

* indicates a student elected as a Junior

**indicates a student inducted in absentia

Class of 2016 Inductees
Emily Lynne Baird Matthew Aaron Loberg Lena Grace Smith
Kiera Wynsum Dobbs Rachel Laura Lorch† Dana Anastasia Stamos
Nicholas Martin Flannery James Edward May Benjamin Bradley Taylor
Robin Susannah Klaus† Madeleine Grace O'Neill Sarah Elizabeth Van Oss†
Maggie Erin Lankford Jordan Elizabeth Shremshock† Michael Joseph Williams

† indicates a student who will be inducted as a Senior