Scholarships & Prizes


Awarded to first-year students (transfers not eligible) on the basis of acting, directing, playwriting, stage management, design and technology, or dance. Please note that you should only apply for one scholarship area. Applicants should apply in the area in which they wish to focus their time and skills on while at Wooster. Winners are not required to major or minor in Theatre and Dance at Wooster. Note: Acting scholarship students are required to audition for the faculty-directed theatre productions each semester (though not required to be cast in the show).

Audition Dates

  • Fall, November 15, 2020

Learn more and apply.


The Edward McCreight Prize in Dramatics is awarded to the senior in the department who has contributed the most in dramatics.

The Cummings-Rumbaugh Speech and Dramatics Prize is an award shared with the Department of Communication which honors the senior with the highest academic standing.

The William C. Craig Theatre Prize is awarded to the graduating senior who has made the greatest contribution to all areas of the theatre program.

Earline F. Brown Scholarship in Performing Arts is awarded in the Fall to a black student who has contributed significantly to the performing arts at Wooster.

Allardice-Wise Scholarship for Seniors (auditions will be held during the Spring semester of the junior year)

The Gladene "Deanie" Collins Endowed Scholarship is awarded to a student for their senior year, with first preference given to a student with financial need who is involved in The College of Wooster dance program.