John Plummer Memorial Scholarship

2021 Recipient

*see caption
Pictured is the 2020-2021 Plummer Scholarship Recipient César Oswaldo Lopez, class of 2021

My name is César Oswaldo Lopez (he/him/his), is a Senior and Posse Scholar currently majoring in Sociology. He is originally from right outside of Atlanta, Georgia from a city named Lilburn. 

César is currently the inaugural Sexuality and Gender Inclusion representative on Scot Council, the campus' current student governing body. When he was initially awarded the John Plummer Memorial Scholarship, he was going on his second year of being a President of Queer People of Color (QPOC). QPOC is one of our two LGBTQIA+ student organizations at the College of Wooster. César joined this organization his first year at the College of Wooster and became involved in advocacy efforts thanks to the guidance of the group’s then-current leadership, and the encouragement of Campus Council's Gender and Sexuality Diversity Representative, at the time.

As a Queer student, César has had the opportunity and been able to navigate very difficult conversations with the administration, the Board of Trustees, the CDI, and other departments to communicate the concerns of many different LGBTQIA+ groups of students. Much of the advocacy work that he has done related to sexuality and gender has been done in tandem with the work of QPOC, and the assistance of the Queer Student Union and the branch of Sexuality and Gender Inclusion. This ranges from serving on committees or working groups; to collaborating with other on-campus offices, student organizations, and leaders to help foster a welcoming and educated community via event programming, public panels, discussions, and more.

2020 Recipient

*see caption
Pictured is the 2019-2020 Plummer Scholarship Recipient Casey Lohman, class of 2021

Casey Lohman graduated from The College of Wooster in 2020 as a Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies major, English, Theater, and Communication Studies triple minor. As a student, they helped develop the Safe Zone program, worked as a Sexuality and Gender Inclusion intern, served on the QSU board, attended multiple conferences on LGBTQIA+ issues, and were a peer facilitator for the Trans and Nonbinary Support Groups. Casey developed and taught a unit for a queer history class on the history of trans, nonbinary, and intersex people. They also were a part of the equestrian team, worked in the theater as a stage manager and set shop employee, and spent much of their time at Common Grounds. Currently, Casey is the Graduate Assistant for the Center for Diversity and Inclusion at the College of Wooster.

About the Scholarship

The John Plummer Memorial Scholarship for Promoting a Welcoming Campus for LGBTQ People was established in 2008 in memory of John Plummer, a longtime comptroller in the Wooster Business Office and mentor to the Wooster lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer (LGBTQ) student community. Plummer, one of the few openly gay persons on campus, served as a lifeline to many in Wooster’s gay student community and was an ardent advocate for a more inclusive and respectful Wooster campus. After Plummer’s death in 2006, Hans Johnson, a 1992 graduate, and friend of Plummer became the guiding force in the creation of the scholarship.

The scholarship combines individual gifts from private donors. The scholarship, of approximately $1500, is conferred on a sophomore, junior, or senior student each year in the fall based on the recommendation of a small advisory committee. The committee includes representatives of alumni, the board, faculty, administration, and the business office (from which John Plummer retired as comptroller in 2002).

The scholarship is open to all students, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity.

Nominations for 2021-2022

Nominations for the 2021-2022 academic year must be submitted by February 15. To nominate a student for the 2021-2022 year, please click here. Email for more information.

Recognition of Recipients

Recipients of the John Plummer Memorial Scholarship for Promoting a Welcoming Campus for LGBTQ People will be honored at the annual ceremonies of the Dewald Recognition Banquet and Lavender Celebration.

Past Scholarship Recipients

  • 2020 – César Oswaldo Lopez
  • 2019 – Casey Lohman
  • 2018 - Mylo Parker-Emerson
  • 2017 - Arthur R. E. Vidmar
  • 2016 - Foster Jia-Ming Cheng
  • 2015 - Lillian Shepherd
  • 2014 - Jacob Danko
  • 2013 - Jacob Malone
  • 2012 - Christina Bowerman
  • 2011 - Sage Nenyue
  • 2010 - Estancia Cota
  • 2009 - Kylie Schrock
  • 2008 - Sarah Gollwitzer

For more information about the scholarship and its history, please visit the John Plummer Memorial Scholarship website. For questions, please email