Prior to Wooster, what other types of work, or places, have you been involved with?

I went into college planning to go to law school but realized during my junior year that education is my passion. After graduating from Indiana University, I was a middle and high school Spanish teacher before returning to IU to study Higher Education and Student Affairs. I’ve worked at colleges and universities of all types and sizes before settling on small colleges, which is where I’ve spent almost 15 years now.

Where did you grow up?

I was born in Gary, Indiana and my family moved 15 miles to Portage, Indiana when I was in first grade. My parents still live in the house that they bought all those years ago! Northwest Indiana is a wonderful mix of suburban, rural, and lakefront areas with easy transportation to Chicago, so I felt like I had access to the best of all worlds when I lived there.

What inspires you about working with Wooster students? What is your favorite part of your job?

I love talking with students about their interests and passions, especially during the times when they are grappling with a change in direction or learning something new. I like hearing about their families and where they grew up as it relates to what they want to do and where they want to go after they graduate.

My grandparents had grade school educations and my parents didn’t go to college. Despite that, my parents always emphasized the importance of going to college and it was an expectation in my family. My favorite part of my job is commencement. Watching students walk across the stage each Spring is a constant affirmation of the values my parents instilled and my way to give back to all those that invested in me while I was in college.