Overview

Chemical physics provides an interdisciplinary approach to the fields of chemistry and physics using mathematical techniques. The major allows students to explore the interface between chemistry and physics by studying structure, surfaces, bonding, atoms and molecules. By combining the methodologies and knowledge of physics and chemistry, many intriguing scientific questions can be addressed by a student with a strong predilection for mathematics and the physical sciences.


Faculty & Staff

Kaitlynn Arnholt

Kaitlynn Arnholt

Visiting Instructor of Chemistry

karnholt@wooster.edu

Robin Bjorkquist

Robin Bjorkquist

Visiting Assistant Professor of Physics

rbjorkquist@wooster.edu

Paul Bonvallet

Paul A. Bonvallet

Professor of Chemistry

pbonvallet@wooster.edu

Mary Cornelius

Mary Cornelius

Administrative Coordinator - Chemistry, BCMB

mcornelius@wooster.edu

Laura DeGroot

Laura DeGroot

Assistant Professor of Physics

ldegroot@wooster.edu

Paul Edmiston

Paul L. Edmiston

Theron L. Peterson and Dorothy R. Peterson Professor of Chemistry; Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

pedmiston@wooster.edu

Jennifer Faust

Jennifer A. Faust

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

jfaust@wooster.edu

Karl Feierabend

Karl J. Feierabend

Associate Professor and Department Chair of Chemistry

kfeierabend@wooster.edu

Kristin Feierabend

Kristin Feierabend

Stockroom Manager - Chemistry

krfeierabend@wooster.edu

Craig First

Craig First

Administrative Coordinator, Physics and Mathematical & Computational Sciences

cfirst@wooster.edu

Manon Grugel-Watson

Manon Grugel-Watson

Visiting Instructor and Laboratory Coordinator of Physics

mgrugel-watson@wooster.edu

Cody Leary faculty in physics at College of Wooster

Cody Leary

Associate Professor of Physics; Pre-Engineering Advisor

cleary@wooster.edu

Susan Lehman

Susan Lehman

Victor J. Andrew Professor of Physics

slehman@wooster.edu

Niklas Manz

Niklas Manz

Associate Professor of Physics, Department Chair of Physics; Liaison to the Environmental Communication & Action Pathway

nmanz@wooster.edu

Sara Martin

Sara E. S. Martin

Assistant Professor of Chemistry; Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

samartin@wooster.edu

Jhony Mera

Electronics & Instrument Technician - Biology, Chemistry, Physics

jmera@wooster.edu

Lilliana Morris

Lilliana S. Morris

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

lmorris@wooster.edu

Carrie Salmon

Carrie R. Salmon

Visiting Assistant Professor of Chemistry

csalmon@wooster.edu

Timothy Siegenthaler

Timothy Siegenthaler

Instrument and Lab Tech/Machinist - Biology, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Physics

tsiegenthaler@wooster.edu

Mark Snider

Mark J. Snider

Robert E. Wilson Professor of Chemistry; Program Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

msnider@wooster.edu

Sarah Sobeck

Sarah J. Sobeck (Schmidtke)

Professor of Chemistry, Associate Dean for Experiential Learning

ssobeck@wooster.edu

James West

James West

Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Biology; Chemistry

jwest@wooster.edu


Latest Physics News

Niklas Manz, associate professor of physics

Professor Manz publishes article as part preservation, part celebration

Niklas Manz, associate professor and department chair of physics at The College of Wooster, recently co-authored an article in Chaos: An Interdisciplinary Journal of […]

John Lindner

Physics professor and alumni publish article about alien suns

John Lindner, emeritus professor of physics at The College of Wooster, and two Wooster alumni, Xinchen (Ariel) Xie ’21 and Hwan (Michelle) Bae ’19, […]

Students participate in B-wiser Science Camp in 2019.

B-WISER Summer Science Camp runs June 12-17

The Buckeye Women in Science, Engineering, and Research (B-WISER), an educational partnership of The College of Wooster and the Martha Holden Jennings Foundation, will […]

Lehman works with Justine Walker ’18 and Avi Vajpeyi with the “bead pile” experiment in 2015.

Physics article collaboration between faculty and students addresses practical applications of bead pile experiment

Susan Lehman, Victor J. Andrew Professor of Physics at The College of Wooster, recently published an article in Granular Matter, a peer-reviewed journal in […]

More Physics Articles

Major

A major in Chemical Physics consists of sixteen courses including the introductory courses of Mathematics, Chemistry, and Physics. The student can then choose to focus on either Chemistry or Physics while taking advanced courses in the other field.

Students may not double major in Chemical Physics and in any of the participating departments of Chemistry, Physics, or Mathematics. Any student who anticipates attending graduate school in chemistry or physics should also take additional courses in those disciplines.

Interested students should discuss plans with the chairperson of the Department of Chemistry or Physics.

View Courses