Overview

Music Education at The College of Wooster

Accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music and the Ohio Department of Education, the degree Bachelor of Music Education in Public School Teaching leads to licensure in the State of Ohio at the elementary and/or secondary levels.

With foundations firmly rooted in the field of Music Education, our faculty brings a combined 45 years of experience teaching in public schools. You’ll frequently hear the phrase “early and often,” regarding our philosophy of classroom exposure and experience; our majors are out in the public school classrooms from their very first music education class at Wooster.  The curriculum prepares students for a career in choral, instrumental, and/or general music.

Audition requirements

To gain admission to the Bachelor of Music Education in Public School Teaching degree program, a student must pass an entrance audition before a faculty jury of three, to be appointed by the chairperson. The audition will occur near the end of the second semester of college and must demonstrate the student’s ability to perform at a high level, the literature of several historical periods and styles. A student wishing to perform an entrance audition must notify the chairperson in writing at least three weeks prior to the audition. Only after passing the entrance audition may the student declare as a major the Bachelor of Music Education. A student who does not pass the entrance audition in the second semester may have a second opportunity in the first two weeks of the third semester.


Faculty

Drew Andreatte portrait

Drew Andreatta

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Percussion

Amanda Bekeny

Amanda Bekeny

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Trumpet

abekeny@wooster.edu

Carrie Culver

Carrie Culver

Associate Professor of Music, Voice, Vocal Pedagogy, Opera & Lyric Theatre Workshop

cculver@wooster.edu

Katherine Ferguson

Kate Ferguson

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Director of Scot Marching Band

kferguson@wooster.edu

Tim Freeze portrait

Timothy Freeze

Visiting Assistant Professor of Music, Trombone

tfreeze@wooster.edu

Joel Graham

Joel Graham

Visiting Assistant Professor of Music, Director of Bands

jgraham@wooster.edu

Jonathan Guez

Jonathan Guez

Associate Professor of Music, Music Theory

jguez@wooster.edu

Cara Haxo portrait

Cara Haxo

Visiting Assistant Professor of Music, Music Theory

chaxo@wooster.edu

Gunnar Owen Hirthe

Gunnar Hirthe

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Clarinet

ghirthe@wooster.edu

Rachel King portrait

Rachel King

Adjunct Instructor of Music

rking@wooster.edu

Daniel Knaggs

Daniel Knaggs

Visiting Assistant Professor of Music Composition and Theory

dknaggs@wooster.edu

Sean Lawry

Sean Lawry

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Scottish Drumming

slawry@wooster.edu

Thomas Lempner

Thomas Lempner

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Saxophone

thlempner@wooster.edu

Jeffrey Lindberg

Jeffrey Lindberg

Professor of Music, Wooster Symphony Orchestra, Jazz Ensemble, Trombone, Jazz History and Improvisation

jlindberg@wooster.edu

gray silhouette outline of a person

James Marron

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Guitar

jmarron@wooster.edu

Kiirsi Maunula Johnson portrait

Kiirsi Maunula Johnson

Adjunct Instructor of Music, French horn

Peter Mowrey

Peter Mowrey

Professor of Music - Music Theory, Composition, Piano and Electronic Music

pmowrey@wooster.edu

Yuka Nakayama Lewicki

Yuka Nakayama-Lewicki

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Piano

ynakayama@wooster.edu

Young Oh pianist in the department of music at the college of wooster

Young Oh

Staff Collaborative Pianist, Music

yoh@wooster.edu

Daniel Overly music at the college of wooster

Daniel Overly

Staff Collaborative Pianist, Music

doverly@wooster.edu

Victoria Peacock adjunct choral music instructor

Victoria Peacock

Adjunct Instructor, Wooster Singers

vpeacock@wooster.edu

Melissa Puster

Melissa Puster

Administrative Coordinator of Music

mpuster@wooster.edu

Christopher Redd adjunct instructor of tuba in the department of music at college of wooster

Christopher Redd

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Tuba, Euphonium

credd@wooster.edu

Arleigh Savage

Arleigh Savage

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Bassoon

asavage@wooster.edu

Palmer Shonk portrait playing bagpipes

Palmer Shonk

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Bagpipes

pshonk@wooster.edu

Toni Shreve

Toni Shreve

Staff Collaborative Pianist - Music

tshreve@wooster.edu

Shitong Sigler

Shitong Sigler

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Piano

ssigler@wooster.edu

Greg Slawson

Greg Slawson

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Jazz Piano, Improvisation, Music Technology

gslawson@wooster.edu

Kimberly States

Kimberly States

Adjunct Instructor of Music

kstates@wooster.edu

gray silhouette outline of a person

Cynthia Warren

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Oboe

cwarren@wooster.edu

Lisa Wong

Lisa Wong

Associate Professor and Department Co-Chair of Music, Wooster Chorus, Music Education, Conducting

lwong@wooster.edu

Thomas Wood

Thomas Wood

Professor of Music, Violin, Chamber Music, String Methods, Music History and Literature

twood@wooster.edu

Kimberly Zaleski

Kimberly Zaleski

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Flute

kzaleski@wooster.edu

Mingyao Zhao

Mingyao Zhao

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Cello

mzhao@wooster.edu


Latest News

Head shot of Lilah Weiss

Music major helps develop pediatric heart frailty scale

Through her experience as a music major, Lilah Weiss ’23 has gained essential skills, such as patience and perseverance, that will aid her journey into the medical […]

Wooster_Chorus-3-21

Wooster Chorus presents video production of spring concert

The Wooster Chorus spring concert will be shown on YouTube at 7 p.m., Thursday, May 6, 2021. Recorded in April in McGaw Chapel due […]

Wooster Alumna donates four pianos to Department of Music.

Music alumna enhances musical experiences for Wooster students

Lifelong musician and teacher donates four Steinway pianos to College

Lisa Wong

Lisa Wong shares music that shaped her life in new podcast

Lisa Wong, associate professor of music at Wooster and director of choruses at The Cleveland Orchestra, was recently featured in season two of the […]

Major

The Bachelor of Music Education (Public School Teaching) degree requires completion of 12-15 courses, including mathematics, humanities, social sciences, psychology, music theory, music history and literature courses.

Wooster is able to offer Ohio teaching licensure for graduates of this program for grades preK-12.

Independent Study

All students at The College of Wooster complete an independent study project on the topic of their choice under the guidance of a faculty mentor. The project is delivered in the form of a thesis, performance, or through another platform in spring of each student’s senior year.

 

Search the I.S. Database

Student Year I.S. Title Major 1 Major 2 Advisor
Please search to view results

Related Articles

Alumni

Wooster graduates can earn an Ohio teaching license that allows them to teach music in grades preK-12. Many students choose to further their studies in graduate and professional programs at top universities across the United States.


Related Articles