Overview

Music Education at The College of Wooster

Accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music and the Ohio Department of Education, the degree Bachelor of Music Education in Public School Teaching leads to licensure in the State of Ohio at the elementary and/or secondary levels.

With foundations firmly rooted in the field of Music Education, our faculty brings a combined 45 years of experience teaching in public schools. You’ll frequently hear the phrase “early and often,” regarding our philosophy of classroom exposure and experience; our majors are out in the public school classrooms from their very first music education class at Wooster.  The curriculum prepares students for a career in choral, instrumental, and/or general music.

Audition requirements

To gain admission to the Bachelor of Music Education in Public School Teaching degree program, a student must pass an entrance audition before a faculty jury of three, to be appointed by the chairperson. The audition will occur near the end of the second semester of college and must demonstrate the student’s ability to perform at a high level, the literature of several historical periods and styles. A student wishing to perform an entrance audition must notify the chairperson in writing at least three weeks prior to the audition. Only after passing the entrance audition may the student declare as a major the Bachelor of Music Education. A student who does not pass the entrance audition in the second semester may have a second opportunity in the first two weeks of the third semester.

 


Faculty & Staff

Sarah Best

Sarah Best

Assistant Professor of Music, Voice

sbest@wooster.edu

Head shot of Ted Clark

Ted Clark

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Trumpet

Dylan Findley

Dylan Findley

Visiting Assistant Professor of Music, Music Theory, and Composition

dfindley@wooster.edu

Tim Freeze portrait

Timothy Freeze

Visiting Assistant Professor of Music, Trombone

tfreeze@wooster.edu

Jeff Gershman head shot

Jeffrey Gershman

Associate professor of Music, Director of Bands

Cara Haxo portrait

Cara Haxo

Visiting Assistant Professor of Music, Music Theory

chaxo@wooster.edu

Gunnar Owen Hirthe

Gunnar Hirthe

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Clarinet

ghirthe@wooster.edu

Head shot of Dan Honaker

Dan Honaker

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Tuba and Euphonium

Head shot of Matthew Ryan Kilgore

Matthew Ryan Kilgore

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Percussion & Director of Scot Marching Band

Rachel King portrait

Rachel King

Adjunct Instructor of Music

rking@wooster.edu

Sean Lawry

Sean Lawry

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Scottish Drumming

slawry@wooster.edu

Jeffrey Lindberg

Jeffrey Lindberg

Professor of Music, Wooster Symphony Orchestra, Jazz Ensemble, Trombone, Jazz History and Improvisation

jlindberg@wooster.edu

James Marron faculty in music at The College of Wooster

James Marron

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Guitar

jmarron@wooster.edu

Kiirsi Maunula Johnson portrait

Kiirsi Maunula Johnson

Adjunct Instructor of Music, French horn

kijohnson@wooster.edu

Peter Mowrey

Peter Mowrey

Professor and Department Chair of Music - Music Theory, Composition, Piano and Electronic Music

pmowrey@wooster.edu

Yuka Nakayama Lewicki

Yuka Nakayama-Lewicki

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Piano

ynakayama@wooster.edu

Young Oh pianist in the department of music at the college of wooster

Young Oh

Staff Collaborative Pianist, Music

yoh@wooster.edu

Victoria Peacock adjunct choral music instructor

Victoria Peacock

Adjunct Instructor, Wooster Singers

vpeacock@wooster.edu

Melissa Puster

Melissa Puster

Administrative Coordinator of Music

mpuster@wooster.edu

Perry Roth

Perry Roth

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Saxophone

proth@wooster.edu

Arleigh Savage

Arleigh Savage

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Bassoon

asavage@wooster.edu

Palmer Shonk portrait playing bagpipes

Palmer Shonk

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Bagpipes

pshonk@wooster.edu

Toni Shreve

Toni Shreve

Staff Collaborative Pianist - Music

tshreve@wooster.edu

Shitong Sigler

Shitong Sigler

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Piano

ssigler@wooster.edu

Daniel Singer

Daniel Singer

Associate Instructor of Music

dsinger@wooster.edu

Greg Slawson

Greg Slawson

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Jazz Piano, Improvisation, Music Technology

gslawson@wooster.edu

Head shot of Edward Vogel

Edward Vogel

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Voice

Cynthia Warren adjunct instructor oboe music at The college of wooster

Cynthia Warren

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Oboe

cwarren@wooster.edu

Lisa Wong

Lisa Wong

Oliver Williams Kettering Professor of Music, Wooster Chorus, Music Education, Choral Conducting

lwong@wooster.edu

Thomas Wood

Thomas Wood

Professor of Music, Violin, Chamber Music, String Methods, Music History and Literature

twood@wooster.edu

Kimberly Zaleski

Kimberly Zaleski

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Flute

kzaleski@wooster.edu

Mingyao Zhao

Mingyao Zhao

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Cello

mzhao@wooster.edu


Latest Music News

Wooster Chorus

Wooster Chorus to present winter concert Dec. 3 

Wooster Chorus will present a winter concert on Saturday, Dec. 3 at 7:30 p.m. in the McGaw Chapel (340 E. University Street) at The […]

Brandon Goldberg

Wooster Symphony Orchestra presents tribute to “A Charlie Brown Christmas” Dec. 2

Wooster Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of Jeffrey Lindberg, will present a musical tribute to A Charlie Brown Christmas on Friday, Dec. 2 at […]

Scot Marching Band 2022

The College of Wooster Scot Marching Band and Pipe Band to perform Nov. 20

The College of Wooster Scot Marching Band and Pipe Band will perform in a combined concert on Sunday, Nov. 20 at 3 p.m. in […]

band

The College of Wooster’s Concert Band to perform Nov. 16

The College of Wooster’s Concert Band will perform Wednesday, Nov. 16 at 7 p.m. in the Gault Recital Hall of Scheide Music Center (525 […]

More Music Articles

Major

The Bachelor of Music Education (Public School Teaching) degree requires completion of 12-15 courses, including mathematics, humanities, social sciences, psychology, music theory, music history and literature courses.

Wooster is able to offer Ohio teaching licensure for graduates of this program for grades preK-12.

Independent Study

All students at The College of Wooster complete an independent study project on the topic of their choice under the guidance of a faculty mentor. The project is delivered in the form of a thesis, performance, or through another platform in spring of each student’s senior year.

 

Search the I.S. Database

Student Year I.S. Title Major 1 Major 2 Advisor
Please search to view results

Related Articles

Alumni

Wooster graduates can earn an Ohio teaching license that allows them to teach music in grades preK-12. Many students choose to further their studies in graduate and professional programs at top universities across the United States.


Related Articles

Lora Heller ’92

Music education alumna connects children and families through music and sign language

Lora Heller ’92 could tell The College of Wooster was going to be a good fit the day she first stepped foot on campus […]

Claire Bellamy '11

Music education major guided by Wooster experience

As a senior in high school, Claire Bellamy ’11 knew that she wanted to major in music education. While looking for a small liberal […]

Betsy Marvin ’77

Music alumna trains performers to inform artistic choices

Like other music theorists, Elizabeth (Betsy) West Marvin ’77 first took an interest in music as a performer. She grew up singing in the […]