Overview

Music Therapy at The College of Wooster

The Bachelor of Music Therapy degree program, accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music and the American Music Therapy Association, prepares students to use music as a therapeutic tool to address the physical, emotional, cognitive and social needs of individuals.

The College of Wooster and the Baldwin Wallace University Conservatory of Music comprise the Cleveland Music Therapy Consortium. This association was the first music therapy degree offered in Northeastern Ohio and was the first in the nation involving a cooperative arrangement among educational institutions. Students in this program take some coursework at Baldwin Wallace University.

Audition requirement

To gain admission to the degree program Bachelor of Music Therapy degree program, a student must pass an entrance audition before a faculty jury of three, to be appointed by the chairperson. The audition will occur near the end of the second semester of college and must demonstrate the student’s ability to perform well repertoire of at least high intermediate level, representing several historical periods and styles. A student wishing to perform an entrance audition must notify the chairperson in writing at least three weeks prior to the audition. Only after passing the entrance audition may the student declare as a major the Bachelor of Music Therapy. A student who does not pass the entrance audition in the second semester may have a second opportunity in the first two weeks of the third semester.


Faculty

Drew Andreatte portrait

Drew Andreatta

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Percussion

Amanda Bekeny

Amanda Bekeny

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Trumpet

abekeny@wooster.edu

Carrie Culver

Carrie Culver

Associate Professor of Music, Voice, Vocal Pedagogy, Opera & Lyric Theatre Workshop

cculver@wooster.edu

Katherine Ferguson

Kate Ferguson

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Director of Scot Marching Band

kferguson@wooster.edu

Tim Freeze portrait

Timothy Freeze

Visiting Assistant Professor of Music, Trombone

tfreeze@wooster.edu

Joel Graham

Joel Graham

Visiting Assistant Professor of Music, Director of Bands

jgraham@wooster.edu

Jonathan Guez

Jonathan Guez

Associate Professor of Music, Music Theory

jguez@wooster.edu

Cara Haxo portrait

Cara Haxo

Visiting Assistant Professor of Music, Music Theory

chaxo@wooster.edu

Gunnar Owen Hirthe

Gunnar Hirthe

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Clarinet

ghirthe@wooster.edu

Rachel King portrait

Rachel King

Adjunct Instructor of Music

rking@wooster.edu

Daniel Knaggs

Daniel Knaggs

Visiting Assistant Professor of Music Composition and Theory

dknaggs@wooster.edu

Sean Lawry

Sean Lawry

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Scottish Drumming

slawry@wooster.edu

Thomas Lempner

Thomas Lempner

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Saxophone

thlempner@wooster.edu

Jeffrey Lindberg

Jeffrey Lindberg

Professor of Music, Wooster Symphony Orchestra, Jazz Ensemble, Trombone, Jazz History and Improvisation

jlindberg@wooster.edu

gray silhouette outline of a person

James Marron

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Guitar

jmarron@wooster.edu

Kiirsi Maunula Johnson portrait

Kiirsi Maunula Johnson

Adjunct Instructor of Music, French horn

Peter Mowrey

Peter Mowrey

Professor of Music - Music Theory, Composition, Piano and Electronic Music

pmowrey@wooster.edu

Yuka Nakayama Lewicki

Yuka Nakayama-Lewicki

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Piano

ynakayama@wooster.edu

Young Oh pianist in the department of music at the college of wooster

Young Oh

Staff Collaborative Pianist, Music

yoh@wooster.edu

Daniel Overly music at the college of wooster

Daniel Overly

Staff Collaborative Pianist, Music

doverly@wooster.edu

Victoria Peacock adjunct choral music instructor

Victoria Peacock

Adjunct Instructor, Wooster Singers

vpeacock@wooster.edu

Melissa Puster

Melissa Puster

Administrative Coordinator of Music

mpuster@wooster.edu

Christopher Redd adjunct instructor of tuba in the department of music at college of wooster

Christopher Redd

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Tuba, Euphonium

credd@wooster.edu

Arleigh Savage

Arleigh Savage

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Bassoon

asavage@wooster.edu

Palmer Shonk portrait playing bagpipes

Palmer Shonk

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Bagpipes

pshonk@wooster.edu

Toni Shreve

Toni Shreve

Staff Collaborative Pianist - Music

tshreve@wooster.edu

Shitong Sigler

Shitong Sigler

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Piano

ssigler@wooster.edu

Greg Slawson

Greg Slawson

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Jazz Piano, Improvisation, Music Technology

gslawson@wooster.edu

Kimberly States

Kimberly States

Adjunct Instructor of Music

kstates@wooster.edu

gray silhouette outline of a person

Cynthia Warren

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Oboe

cwarren@wooster.edu

Lisa Wong

Lisa Wong

Associate Professor and Department Co-Chair of Music, Wooster Chorus, Music Education, Conducting

lwong@wooster.edu

Thomas Wood

Thomas Wood

Professor of Music, Violin, Chamber Music, String Methods, Music History and Literature

twood@wooster.edu

Kimberly Zaleski

Kimberly Zaleski

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Flute

kzaleski@wooster.edu

Mingyao Zhao

Mingyao Zhao

Adjunct Instructor of Music, Cello

mzhao@wooster.edu


Latest News

Major

The Music Therapy major requires completion of 38.750 courses for graduation, with music courses making up 24 of the required courses.

Coursework consists of extensive training in music theory, history, and performance, as well as classes in statistics, psychology, and anatomy. Field experience work begins as early as the sophomore year. Students work with clients one-on-one and in group settings, culminating in a six-month full-time music therapy internship. Our Music Therapy majors graduate with a solid foundation of practical experience, giving them a competitive edge when entering the job market.

Independent Study

All students at The College of Wooster complete independent study on a topic of their choice under the guidance of a faculty mentor. The Bachelor of Music Therapy degree culminates in a six-month internship, which is the capstone experience for this particular degree. Wooster’s Independent Study program may take on many forms, including experiential learning in music therapy. Students use their research and learning to produce a thesis, delivered in spring of their senior year.

 

 

Search the I.S. Database

Student Year I.S. Title Major 1 Major 2 Advisor
Please search to view results

Related Articles

Alumni

Students work with clients one-on-one and in group settings, culminating in a six-month full-time music therapy internship. Our Music Therapy majors graduate with a solid foundation of practical experience, giving them a competitive edge when entering the job market.


Related Articles